Paper Bag Princess photo shoot

Paper bag princess - Andrew Todd Photography - Designer: Keali Tait-Innes - Model: Jena Gogo

 

     This photo shoot was an awesome time.  My designer friend Keali had been talking about making some dresses out of paper bags and borrowing from the paper bag princess theme out of the children’s book by Robert Munsch.  I was excited to get to collaborate with Keali as she is an extremely creative and motivated person and Jena the model was someone who had stood out to me from a previous fashion show I had shot. Also my long time friend Curt Brown happened to be in town to visit from Ontario and he was interested in coming along.

     I decided on a simple one light setup with an elinchrom dlite-4, an innovatronix battery pack (cheap and amazing) and one medium sized softbox.   When we left town I had only brought one light with me as it was bright and sunny and I thought I could use the sun to backlight her in the same way I had with another successful shoot from a few weeks before.  When we arrived the location turned out to be right beside the ocean which turned it into a freezing, windy day in a foggy field. 

    The one light proved to work well.  Also my favorite picture surprisingly turned out to be the one above which was taken while the battery pack was recycling the light so it’s all natural lighting.  That’s a great lesson I learnt.  No matter how much effort I put into lighting I will always shoot off a couple with natural light just for a quick alternative look.

 

Paper bag princess - Andrew Todd Photography - Designer: Keali Tait-Innes - Model: Jena Gogo

Paper bag princess - Andrew Todd Photography - Designer: Keali Tait-Innes - Model: Jena Gogo

Paper bag princess - Andrew Todd Photography - Designer: Keali Tait-Innes - Model: Jena Gogo

- Andrew Todd

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • bianca harrison  On August 29, 2009 at 12:38 am

    hey there was just looking up the paper bag princess costume ideas and these dresses are fantastic! just wondering if the designer just constructed it out of paper bags only? and if so did she use a pattern? I would definitley be interested in buying one, i am located in victoria bc. if you could please get back to me that would be great. thanks so much-Bianca

  • Shaye  On October 30, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    oh my gosh! those pictures are gorgeous, as is the model! i love the twist on the classic fairytale!!!

Trackbacks

  • By GJ Pearson shoot « Andrew Todd on February 22, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    [...] Ontario and I asked him to come along with me to lend a hand.  He was my assistant for the paper bag princess shoot.  GJ Pearson is an artist here in Victoria who is showing at Dab Gallery from March 21st to [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

